Reading KS2

Reading and Phonics

Reading and phonics skills are developed through whole class, group and individual activities and tasks. We have a range of picture, fiction and information books which children experience alongside more structured reading books. This ensures that children have a rich, varied and stimulating experience of books throughout the school.

The reading scheme used through school is Oxford Reading Tree. Visit Oxford Owl for further information.

Specific reading skills are taught through a structured developmental approach appropriate to the age and needs of the individual child. Structured reading sessions in school help develop a range of reading skills and a deeper understanding of the texts being read. We aim for our children to develop a positive attitude to reading and a love of books. The best way you can help your child to read easily and with enjoyment is to talk and listen to them as much as possible, answering questions from an early age and trying to involve them in a variety of interesting experiences.

Phonics input continues through KS2 until pupils have secure skills. Once pupils have completed Phonics phase 6 they will move to a support for spellings model. Our Phonics scheme is Letters and Sounds. Visit Letters and Sounds for further information.

Below are a few suggestions of books that may be suitable for different age groups.
This doesn’t not mean they aren’t suitable to be read by children of other ages.

Reading Karate

The Reading Karate system is an exciting way of encouraging the children to read at home every day – which is our school reading target.
Every day we check to see who has read at home.
The numbers of reads are totalled up and each Friday, in  Assembly, children who have achieved different numbers of reads are awarded with appropriate Reading Bands.
The children are really loving this scheme, and it has made a huge difference to the numbers of children who read every day.

How it works:

 Year 3 and 4

Sharing a book with an adult at home for at least 15 minutes counts as a read:

This could be a school reading book, library book or a book from home. Then an adult must sign the reading record book, only one read per day counts. If your child is a free reader, they can read to themselves, but an adult must sign for it to count as a read.

Years 5 and 6

Sharing a book with an adult at home or reading to themselves  for at least 15 minutes counts as a read:

This could be a school reading book, library book or a book from home. They should write a comment about what they have just read. An adult must sign the reading record book. Only one read per day counts.


15 Reads


45 Reads


75 Reads


105 Reads

Yellow Dan

150 Reads

Purple Dan

200 Reads

Red Dan

300 Reads

Rosemellin Star Reader

500 Reads


30 Reads


60 Reads


90 Reads


120 Reads

Orange Dan

175 Reads

Green Dan

250 Reads

Blue Dan

400 Read